Pieterskerk Leiden

Pieterskerkhof 1A, Leiden


Universiteit Leiden

4 September - Opening Academic Year 2017-2018

The opening ceremony of Leiden University’s 2017-2018 Academic Year will start on 4 September 2017 in the Pieterskerk in Leiden.


  • Welcome by Professor Carel Stolker, Rector Magnificus and President of the Executive Board
  • The opening address will be given by Merijn Tinga, Leiden alumnus Biology, Plastic Soup Surfer and forerunner of a sustainable world, in which we recycle everything.
  • Musical interlude performed by the Choir of the Leiden Student Choir and Orchestra Collegium Musicum.
  • Learning@LeidenUniversity by Professor Hester Bijl, Vice-Rector Magnificus.
  • Ghislaine Voogd, Chair of the Leiden University Student Platform, will present the 2017 Leiden Teaching Prize.
  • This will be followed by the conferral of the 2017 Gratama Science Prize.
  • Closing remarks by Professor Carel Stolker.

You are kindly requested to be seated before 14.55 hrs. The programme will commence at 15.00 hrs. promptly. The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Pieterskerk, at approximately 16.30 hrs.
A simultaneous English translation of the speeches will be provided. If you wish to be present at the ceremony, please register before 25 august by clicking this link. Personal entrance cards will not be issued on this occasion.
Time: 15.00 – 18.00 hrs.